Local Matters

Recent comments

Community Sponsors

October 26, 2018 - 2:50pm

Winners announced for 2018 Run for the ACORNS

posted by Billie Owens in Sports, Run for the Acorns, Announcements, 5K, 10K.

Press release:

The sixth annual “Run for the ACORNS” 10K and 5K Trail Run/Walk was held at the Genesee County Park & Forest in East Bethany on Sept. 30th. More than 240 participants enjoyed the misty fall morning as they made their way along a course that highlights the beauty of the park.

The course winds along park trails which feature rolling hills, ponds, forests and Black Creek. A dozen environmental education signs inform runners and walkers as they pass by some noteworthy park features.

Said Deputy County Treasurer Kevin Andrews, 5K winner in the male 30-39 age group, “[A]s tough as some of those hills are, I really enjoy that course, it is my favorite course out of the races that I do each year.”

Rochester resident Emma Jones, who won the overall 5K, said, “I’d never been to that park before but it’s definitely worth the drive – it’s beautiful! I can’t wait to go back and check out the nature center. Thanks to you and everyone involved for putting on an awesome event!”

A fire in the fireplace at the park pavilion warmed runners when the race was over as they enjoyed refreshments including yogurt provided by Upstate Milk, juices from Red Jacket, apples from Roanoke Apple Farm and nut butters from Once Again Nut Butter.

Post-race activities included an awards ceremony and a Kids Fun Run where everyone won a ribbon.

Many thanks to the major sponsors of the race - Awards Sponsor: Brothers-All-Natural; Cup Sponsor Eli Fish Brewing Co.; Special Corporate Sponsor AKIMA, and Corporate Sponsors: Tompkins Bank of Castile, Genesee Carquest and Fastenal. Also thanks to all our other sponsors and to the volunteers who helped to make this an amazing event!

Congratulations to all the winners! For more information and full race results visit here.

Next Year’s Run for the ACORNS takes place on Sunday, Oct. 6th.

Winner’s Circle (listed male, female)


1st Place: Chad Minuto, Kimberly Mills

2nd Place: Kenneth Plossl, Rene Hoover

Age Group Winners (listed male, female)

15-19: Rodney Egli

20-29: Jason Harasimowicz, Jess Juliano

30-39: Michael Harasimowicz, Jill Patric

40-49: James Caswell, Kelly Roberts

50-59: Adam Douglas, Carol Vanderberg

60-69: Terry Sweeney, Janice Spiotta


1st Place: Mike Miller, Emma Jones

2nd Place: Jacob Seppe-Schultz, Steph Parmenter

Age Group Winners (listed male, female)

14 and under: Elijah Abdella, Ainsley Kent

15-19: Alex Harper, Kathleen Nolan

20-29: Thomas Demmer, Julianna Parmenter

30-39: Kevin Andrews, Jessica Beal

40-49: Jason Smith, Michelle Abdella

50-59: David Demmer, Wendy Marchese

60-69: Lin Jursted, Mary Young-Murray

Copyright © 2008-2022 The Batavian. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service

blue button

News Break