July 28, 2011 - 8:23am
Today's Poll: You make the call: Out or Safe?
posted by Howard B. Owens in polls.
July 28, 2011 - 9:01am#1
For all of those who say "out" -- can you say with 100 percent certainty where the tag was applied?
July 28, 2011 - 9:01am#2
He looks out from the beginning of the video, but as they zoom in closer towards the end of the replay it almost looks like he never touched him with the glove on his leg. Changing my call to safe.
July 28, 2011 - 9:10am#3
To me it looked as though he was out, but on the other hand I really don't care because I am a Proud Member of the Great Red Sox Nation--Enough Said!
July 28, 2011 - 9:17am#4
Thats a bang-bang play and when you look at the similar angle the umpire had you have to call him out on principle alone. It's no different when middle infielders turn double plays and they dont touch the bag but the runners are called out. However, being a Braves fan I was glad he was called safe.
July 28, 2011 - 9:18am#5
that's what I'm saying -- the first time I watch it, easy call, he's out. With each repeated watch, I'm like, gee, where did the catcher ever tag him? Maybe on the leg, but hard to say for sure and in one angle it looks like the catcher's glove could have easily missed the leg. And, btw, the fact that this call is even controversial is largely the catcher's fault. He's out of position to take the throw ... too far forward from the plate and in a position where the only tag he can apply is a sweep, which is slower and riskier than getting in front of the plate.
July 28, 2011 - 9:29am#6
lol...out by a mile, no brainer! ump wanted to go home! 19 innings is a long game!
July 28, 2011 - 9:31am#7
Where's the tag, Matt?
July 28, 2011 - 9:32am#8
on the leg..throw beat him, runner didnt even touch home. Not even debatable in my opinion.
July 28, 2011 - 9:33am#9
The stop action on the video does not appear to show the tag. The umpire called it as he saw it, so the runner was safe.
July 28, 2011 - 9:33am#10
look at the runners reaction, he knew he was out.
July 28, 2011 - 9:35am#11
well, if people want to argue the call for sake of having something to debate, so be it....Everyone knows the ump made the wrong call
July 28, 2011 - 9:36am#12
July 28, 2011 - 9:37am#13
July 28, 2011 - 9:43am#14
To me, if you look at 1:06 through 1:11, it looks as if the mit does not touch the runner. The runner does a good job deflecting the mit from touching him, which is what is required to make an out. I say the runner is safe. I am not saying that what the runner did was fair, though, but it is all part of the game!
July 28, 2011 - 9:50am#15
I thought the best part of that play was the batter going face first into the ground...catcher could have turned two.
July 28, 2011 - 10:05am#16
The umpire said in review (and perhaps he's seen video from an angle we haven't seen) he sees the pants leg move as if it got brushed. I question whether that's a real reliable way to say the tag was made. Further, this explanation only further bolsters the idea that this isn't a cut-and-dried call. If that's the best the umpire can do in review ... that's pretty weak. The only time you can possibly say the runner was possibly tagged was the sweep across the leg, and one angle makes it look (though not clearly) the tag was missed. It doesn't matter by how much the ball beat the runner, it isn't an out until the tag is made. And it's not clear the tag was made. There's no such thing as out on "principle alone" (to quote Adam). Either the tag is made in time or it's not. Also, the runner did touch the plate. As for his reaction, he would have thought he was out just merely from the throw getting there first, so you can't read too much into that.
July 28, 2011 - 10:05am#17
Yes, I loved that!
July 28, 2011 - 10:12am#18
lol.. he admitted he was wrong! twist however way you would like, the ump admitted he was wrong..Everyone knows he was out, including the runner. I think its funny people actually believe he was safe.
July 28, 2011 - 10:16am#19
and ur right howard, he did touch home.....right after he was tagged out.
July 28, 2011 - 10:44am#20
Doesn't matter what the ump says later, the call on the field stands in baseball. No appeal process.
July 28, 2011 - 10:47am#21
He was tagged on the shin. The umpire admitted yesterday that he blew the call. I'm glad I went to bed during the 15th inning of this game (lifelong Pirate fan) because I wouldn't have been able to sleep the rest of the night if I'd have seen this. Oh well, life goes on. They lost again in extras last night. One more in Atlanta, and then 3 in Philly. LET'S GO BUCS!
July 28, 2011 - 10:59am#22
The call stands? So, theres not going to be an appeal two days after it happened? Jeez, i thought that was the whole point of this poll..i completely misunderstood! lol
July 28, 2011 - 12:46pm#23
Just received this e-mail: "Although I respect the opinions of the readers of the Batavian, I stand with my close friend, Dave Olsen in supporting the call on the field" Signed; Bud Selig.
July 28, 2011 - 1:08pm#24
The real problem here is the poor play of the catcher. 1. He positions himself too far from home plate, presumably anticipating an easy tag out. 2. He has ample opportunity to tag the runner a second time after the sweep. Watch the video and tell me if we'd be talking about this today if the catcher had the sense to hook his glove arm in front of the runner's chest. I think the catcher got him on the sweep, but it's hard to say. The umpire had time to make the call, it's not like it was a timing play at the plate. I'll side with the folks who think it was a blown call. My take is that if the ump doesn't have a clear line of sight to the physical tag, he has to side with the defensive player due to the position and timing of the play. I guess my point is the catcher could have saved us all this trouble by not being terrible, but baseball is a mental game and after 16 innings you have to expect a lapse or two.
July 28, 2011 - 2:13pm#25
I'll side with the folks who think it was a blown call. My take is that if the ump doesn't have a clear line of sight to the physical tag, he has to side with the defensive player due to the position and timing of the play. -I think this is a pretty standard interpretation about how an umpire is supposed to make calls. I guess my point is the catcher could have saved us all this trouble by not being terrible, but baseball is a mental game and after 16 innings you have to expect a lapse or two. -In his defense...he's a career minor leaguer and he's the 6th catch on Pittsburgh's depth chart.
July 28, 2011 - 2:14pm#26
The video is no longer available. MLB has had it removed. CYA?
July 28, 2011 - 4:19pm#27
Jason wrote, "-In his defense...he's a career minor leaguer and he's the 6th catch on Pittsburgh's depth chart." A career minor leaguer ... all that much more time to work on fundamentals. Obviously, he's no Crash Davis. (warning: non-bleeped language):
July 28, 2011 - 11:16pm#28
Howard The tag was applied to the shin area... The ump wanted to go home and go to bed. It was a horrible call