Skip to main content

Men's Hockey League

The Wild fend off a wild comeback to win overtime in BML championship

By Steve Ognibene


Beachy Cabinet Makers Wild won the Batavia Mens Hockey League Championship at the David M. McCarthy Memorial Ice Arena on Sunday, defeating the Kelly Holland Inn NorthStars, 5-4 in overtime.

Shawn Beachy scored the first goal in the opening period.  Wild led 1-0 after 1.

The Stars tied the game with 4:51 left in the second period on a goal by Nick Bush.

Two minutes later, Ken Beachy scored to give the Wild back the lead 2-1.  A couple of goals were disallowed by the Wild in the next two minutes.  Twenty-one seconds before the end of the second period, the Wild scored again to increase the margin, 3-1 on a goal by Shawn Beachy, assisted by Ryan DiFilippo, who had two assists in the game.

After a Zamboni clean, the Wild carried the momentum from the locker room to score a goal by Jason Harasimowicz and gave the Wild a commanding 4-1 lead.

However, the Stars did not give up, seven minutes left in the third period,  Mason Versage scored two goals within a minute apart, including one on the power-play to cut the lead to one.

Then minutes later, at 4:14 left, the Stars' James Kujowski tied the game on a loose puck in front of net-minder John Bermel for the Wild.

The game went to a ten-minute sudden death overtime after a 4-4 tie.

Both teams had opportunities to end the game, and play got scrappy and challenging.  With four minutes left in the overtime, Wild caught a roughing penalty. Stars were on a 5 to 4 power play opportunity. 

Jason Harasimowicz from the Wild said “I stepped up to the faceoff circle, was aggressive and wanted to see where it goes.  I am just going to start picking up speed and hope I can get the puck in their zone.  I came down the right side, took the shot in the corner and scored. I have scored on the goalie like that during the regular season.  So, if I score, I score.  I know I have done it before and hoped it would get in the net. It did and could not believe it."

Harasimowicz scored the game winning goal short-handed with 3:35 left in the overtime to give the Beachy Cabinetmakers Wild the men’s league title.  Harasimowicz was named MVP.

To view or purchase photos, click here.

Photos by Steve Ognibene









Jason Harasimowicz named MVP


Beachy Cabinet Makers Wild 2023 Mens Hockey Champions


Three Beachy family generations, photo left to right Ken, grandson Sawyer, son Shawn

Kings win hockey championship in overtime

By Howard B. Owens


Dan Eckerson scored the winning goal in overtime this morning at David M. McCarthy Memorial Ice Arena to give the Newstead Homes Kings the Batavia Men's League Champsionship for 2022.

The Kings beat the Kioti Tractor Coyotes 4-3.

The King's roster:

  • Evan Eckerson, 23
  • Paul Greane, 10
  • Dan Eckerson, 22
  • Colton Cole, 3
  • Jake Bower, 5
  • Dan Langendorfer, 2
  • Mike Scinta, 1
  • Eric Bison, 7
  • Mark Brooks, 8
  • Joe Miano, 11
  • Ally Bison, 4
  • Jeff Crane, 9
  • Doug Warren, 6

For more photos or to purchase prints, click here.













Stars beat Sabres in Men's Hockey League title game

By Howard B. Owens


Kelly's Holland Inn Stars beat the Bud Lite Sabres by a score of 3-1, scoring two quick goals about midway through the third period to seal the deal, in the Men's Hockey League Championship at Falleti Ice Arena this morning.







NOTE: The host for my photo site is having difficulty so the link below and the slideshow are not working right now, but I'm including the link and slideshow code so that as soon as service is restored, everything will be available.

To purchase prints, click here.

Sabres capture 2015 Men's League Championship

By Howard B. Owens

The Buffalo Sabres have yet to win a Stanley Cup, but the Batavia Sabres can now enjoy some championship swag after capturing the Genesee County title this morning at Falleti Ice Arena in a 4-1 win over the Wild.

MVP Rich Pearson

Team Captain Mike Koch

To purchase prints, click here.

Authentically Local